The title, what gives?

Scio me nihil scire is Latin for “I know that I know nothing.”  It is a relatively famous quote by Socrates (yes I am aware that Socrates is Greek and that making a latin quote of his saying is ridiculous, but I just like Latin, okay?  I’m planning on putting this quote on a tattoo I am working on).  “I know that I know nothing” is not an admission of ignorance.  Socrates is simply stating that nothing can be known with absolute certainty.  Nothing, absolutely nothing.

I believe that pursuit of knowledge is a noble and beautiful endeavour, but the claim that one knows anything is both ludicrous and dangerous.  Whether it be about religion, politics, human behaviour, or even most forms science, no one can or should claim that they know an absolute truth.  It is this absolute knowledge by fallible beings that petrifies me.  Sometimes it is convenient to assume truth inasmuch as it helps us recognize patterns in the world around us (physical laws, etc.) but you should always keep an open mind to new ideas.

So what does this have to do with my blog?  I’m not sure (ha!), but keep in mind that things you read here thoughts as a result of (mostly random) currents running through my brain, and should always be taken with a boulder-sized grain of salt.

This is my first blog and, in fact, my first post.  Please be nice.  Or at least keep in mind what your mother told you: “If you have nothing nice to say, don’t say anything at all.”

One thought on “The title, what gives?

Leave a Reply

